Kane County Office of Community Reinvestment

Housing Rehabilitation Program

The Housing Rehabilitation Program helps homeowners maintain their homes by providing funds to correct code violations and eliminate substandard living conditions. The program provides up to $20,000 in assistance in the form of a zero-interest, deferred-payment loan. No interest accrues on the loan, and no payments are due until the home is sold, the title is transferred, or the home no longer serves as the homeowner's principal residence. When any of these events occur, the loan is repaid. The program also provides homeowners up to $10,000 in assistance as a grant to address lead-based paint hazards. To qualify for the Housing Rehabilitation Program, homeowners must live in the Kane-Elgin Consortium Area**, meet Federal income limits (see table below), and have sufficient equity to cover the amount of the loan. For more information, call Community Contacts at 847-697-8800 or go to www.cci-hci.org.

Note to homeowners: up to an additional $10,000 in deferred loan funds may be available if the home is located within the city limits of St. Charles, under these same terms and conditions.

Income Limits for Housing Rehabilitation Program*

Household Size12345678+
Maximum Income$49,950$57,050$64,200$71,300$77,050$82,750$88,450$94,150
* Revised 6/28/2019

** The Kane-Elgin Consortium Area does not include the municipalities of Aurora, Hampshire, Huntley, and Montgomery. Algonquin and Huntley homeowners should contact the McHenry County Housing Authority at 815-338-7752. Aurora homeowners should contact the City of Aurora's Division of Neighborhood Redevelopment at 630-256-3320. Housing rehabilitation assistance is not available to homeowners in Hampshire and Montgomery at this time.